Rapid Wheelmen

About Us | Rides | Maps | Cycling 101 | For Members | Join / Renew

About Us

The Rapid Wheelmen is a bicycle club based in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The Club strives to promote fun, safe cycling for all through rides, races, tours, and advocacy.

Rapid Wheelmen Constitution (PDF)

History

The Rapid Wheelmen was organized in April, 1970, in the back room of Alger Schwinn Cyclery, then located in Alger Heights in southeast Grand Rapids. Early activities centered around club rides, meetings, picnics and camp-outs.

The Club hosted its first invitational ride, the “One Hundred Grand,” in 1973. 1973 was also the year of the first Arab oil embargo, which led to a shortage of bicycles and a boost in membership.

Over the years, the Club has branched out into racing, mountain biking, additional invitational rides, safety education programs, advocacy for cyclists’ rights and facilities, and fundraising for charities. We try to be all things to all cyclists - future activities will likely be determined by new trends in cycling.

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is an eager band of bike nuts who donate time and energy to make the Wheelmen thrive. Contact any Board member via email using the links below or by mail c/o Rapid Wheelmen, PO Box 1008, Grand Rapids, MI 49501.

Voting members include:

President
Evan Wilson

president@rapidwheelmen.com

Vice-President
Christopher Estes

vp@rapidwheelmen.com

Secretary
Jessica Crawford

secretary@rapidwheelmen.com

Treasurer
Tad Smedes

treasurer@rapidwheelmen.com

Membership
Bob Ayars

membership@rapidwheelmen.com

Special Events
Beth Hamel

events@rapidwheelmen.com

Head Ride Captain
Susanne Aldridge

ridecaptain@rapidwheelmen.com

Head Race Captain
Bob Ayars

race@rapidwheelmen.com

Safety/Advocacy Chair
Jesse Munroe

safety@rapidwheelmen.com

Newsletter
Dave Durkee

newsletter@rapidwheelmen.com

Director Emeritus
Randy Higgins

emeritus@rapidwheelmen.com

Website/Social Media
Susanne Aldridge

website@rapidwheelmen.com

The Board quite often communicates using it's own Yahoo group. If you are a club member in good standing and would like to keep up with online board discussions please join us at this link: Officers Yahoo Group

Non-voting members include:

Race Captains
OPEN - off road/cyclocross

OPEN - David Durkee (Interim)
race@rapidwheelmen.com

David Durkee - time trials coordinator
timetrials@rapidwheelmen.com

Internet Directors
Susanne Aldridge - web master and social media coordinator

website@rapidwheelmen.com

Copyright Rapid Wheelmen 2017
PO Box 1008, Grand Rapids, MI 49501
Email Rapid Wheelmen
Email Webmaster

Terms and Conditions